A New PDR

I had a 12 mile run on my training plan yesterday and was absolutely terrified of running it. I had planned to wake up really early Wednesday morning to run but somehow slept through all THREE of my alarms (guess I was tired…) and woke up at 6:45, too late to run 12 miles and get to work by 10. I switched it to after class and slept for another hour.

I had class until 3:50, rushed home and got ready to run. I wanted to run 2-3 miles before meeting up with the running club group run at 4:30. I met up with them about 2 miles into it and they were speedy. I was going at a 7:50-8:20/mile pace for about 2 miles. That’s pushing it for a 5k, I can’t even dream about hitting those times for a long run. Needless to say I did not complete the full 5 miles with them and broke off about 2 miles in. I did a couple of loops in this really nice neighborhood with some pretty views and then ran along the waterfront, where I knew I’d have access to water.

I finished the 12.8 miles in about 2 hours 20 minutes. I know I could have done better, but I walked about every mile for 10-20 seconds. I know I’ll do better race day, when the adrenaline is flowing and I’m pushing myself at a pace that I KNOW I can handle. I ran the Newburyport 10 mile at a 9:02/mile (according to the Garmin, my official time doesn’t reflect that pace but my Garmin said I did 10.16 in 1:32 so I’m going with that ;)).

I was also kind of annoyed that the group run was so speedy. They overemphasized that they wanted to include everyone… then ran the group “easy” run at a 7:50-8:20 pace. I guess the overall pace for that run was 8:39, which isn’t too bad. I’m going to go on the run tomorrow so we’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

