Weekend!

20110815-075139.jpg

I was hoping to have a nice, relaxing weekend. This weekend was anything but relaxing, but a lot of fun!

Friday night I made cookies and was in bed by 10pm. Awesome.

Saturday I had to be at the triathlon by 6:30 so I got up at the crack of dawn. I was surprisingly not as tired as when I have to get up that early for work. I helped with parking and then headed over to the water station at the 5k turnaround point. It was a great morning, all of the athletes were so inspirational. I had doubts about doing it in two weeks but I’m feeling a bit more confident.

I had planned to do a brick workout but after my swim I got a phone call from a friend needing a ride, so I didn’t get to the bike ride until an hour later. I ended up doing 17 on the bike but no run since breakfast happened at 5:45am and it was getting close to 2:30.

I did some shopping after and got new goggles, lycra bathing cap, a stopwatch, and some sweet new sunglasses for $5. The less I spend on sunglasses the less it hurts when I break them two weeks later.

I went out to dinner Saturday night. We went to The Single Pebble downtown and it was amazing. We got a few seafood dishes, a chicken and a beef dish. We also got their dumpling sampler which was delicious. They brought out the lo mein after we had stuffed ourselves completely so I’m not sure how that was but I’ll probably be eating it as leftovers later! We headed over to Das Bierhaus for a drink afterwards. I had never been there before and it reminded me of Disney World, haha. For outside seating they had picnic tables and the storefront just looked like a restaurant in Epcot or Magic Kingdom.

Sunday was long and busy too but lots of fun! We traveled down to Williamstown, MA to go to The Clark museum. It was a lot bigger than we’d anticipated. There were also a lot of people there. Along with the Pissarro exhibit which was their temporary exhibit, they had a lot of great art. They even had a Degas ballerina!

The drive down took about 3 hours and the drive home took 5.5. How does that happen?? We ended up on Route 7 West instead of Route 7 North. 7W goes through New York State but eventually meets up with 7N. After taking a ferry across Lake Champlain, which our directions failed to mention. So we got to see a lot of both highways and made it back by 8:30pm.

It was a fun trip though and nice to get out of Burlington for the day.

Today involves babysitting and a swim + 4.5 mile run that I did not do yesterday.

20110815-075237.jpg

Leave a Reply

